My blogging story

This is not my first blog.

I started blogging here this month, and I for the first time since 2004, I am happy writing my feelings here for all the world to see.

I started blogging early 2004. It was in Xanga, and then I moved constantly from one place to the other in search of God knows what. I stayed for a while in WordPress since 2006, and I do have a domain of my own. Currently, I have around 4 blogs running active, but lately without any new posts because I have been posting like mad here.

This place feels like home.

It makes me feel as though I do have a confidant in the world and that this little spot of the web is mine after being so OUT THERE for several years. Yes, my 2006 blog is still active. It is at http://www.pencilpushin.com, although I have no desire to go back there because of censorship and I guess too much traffic.

When is traffic bad?

When it hampers your creativity and prevents you from doing what you love the most. For me, that is writing and sharing my thoughts.

The reason I started blogging way back in 2004 because I wanted to improve my writing skills. I’ve kept a physical journal since I was in grade school, and I thought perhaps writing online would be another step.

I still have my physical journals as it lets me jot observations and findings whenever I am away from a keyboard. Fortunately for me, I am always close to a keyboard so writing directly does not bother me at all.

Unfortunately, when you blog with a passion or in excess, I guess it does start to become a bit commercialized and you fail to achieve what you wanted to do in the first place, and that is to dig deep and share your thoughts.

So here I am, blogging away in my new space, sharing my thoughts to those who I have not yet met, and at the same time practicing my writing skills.

Beats having to do nothing anyway. 😉

*post above is an answer to The DailyPost question of the day: What made you decide to start a blog? If you’ve blogged about this before, go back and read it. Is that still the reason? What’s changed?”

 

Tags:
