Where to now?

*whoosh*

A tunnel of dust and wind formed near the lake and in a flash of light, a vehicle materialized as though being vomited by the vortex of wind. The round glass top of the vehicle lifted upwards and two people stepped out arguing.

“Now, where are we?” asked the slim, dark haired girl, with black glasses and her hair tied up in a high ponytail.

“I think we are in OZ,” laughed her companion.

“You don’t remember, do you?” said Lee, softly hitting her head on the side of the vehicle. “Why did I have to go with you?” she added, still banging her head.

“Where is your sense of adventure?” asked Rick.

“I think I left it in year 2011.”

“Well, boohoo for you!” said Rick. “Come on. Let’s get out of here!”

Rolling her eyes, Lee asked, “Where to now?”

“I don’t know. You decide.” said Rick as he started climbing back into the vehicle. “We have just around an hour left before everybody will start to panic, so we have time for one more stop. Or we could turn back time again,” he added shaking his head.

“There is one place I do want to see,” said Lee softly.

“Yeah? Where? Name your date, time, and place!” Rick said enthusiastically, not noticing the change in Lee’s mood.

“Nevermind. Let’s just go home.”

“What? Why?”

“Time travel is tricky, Rick,” whispered Lee, “you go to places you have wondered for so long, but just that small introduction can cause a ripple that would change everything in its course. I don’t want to risk that.”

Rick stared at her quietly and nodded. “So I guess we’re homeward bound then?” He asked, twisting the dials and setting the date, time, and location of the time machine.

“I guess so,” Lee finally answered as the machine whirred into life. “Where are we anyway?”

“The future,” shrugged Rick, “I wanted to see if we’d end up together.” He said with a shy smile, his ears reddening.

“You goof!” punched Lee, “now why would we end up together in the future when we’re not together now?”

“I don’t know,” said Rick, “wishful thinking I guess.” He said, grinning at Lee.

Lee blushed. Looking straight at Rick’s eyes, Lee cocked an eyebrow and said, “then you have to do something about that big boy.” She winked and added, “otherwise it will never be.”

And with a soft plop, the duo disappeared as though they never were there.

A short distance away, two figures moved among the trees. A middle aged woman and man were watching from the shadows at the spectacular time machine.

A soft laugh came from the woman as she said, “good thing you understood what I meant, big boy.”

“I never saw it coming, Lee,” said Rick, as she pulled Lee into a warm embrace and kissed her softly.

*The story was written in a span of 30 minutes ย in an attempt to answer today’s DailyPost question. It the first story that I have written in almost 10 years.*

Tags:

4 Comments to “Where to now?”

  1. Why did you stop writing?
    This is fabulous.
    Thank you so much for your visit.

    • oh, granny! I love your blog! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for your kind comment!
      I sort of stopped because I focused more on studying than writing, but I guess I am trying to see where this goes now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. i love this! ๐Ÿ™‚

